MUMBAI : A BJP Youth president of Vasai has been arrested by the Waliv police alongwith 7 others for allegedly assaulting policemen on duty at the police station on Tuesday dawn. BJP leaders led a  march to the Additional Superintendent of Police (ASP) Vasai to protest the arrest. 

On Monday midnight, some of the BJP workers including Ranjit Ishwar Dayal Singh, the BJP youth leader, were assaulting few men near the Tungareshwar Phata on the Mumbai Ahmedabad National Highway. The night patrolling police team intervened in the matter and hauled Singh, Nitin Pathak and others to the Waliv police station and while doing so, Singh and the other accused started to assault  Sachin Bavdane, the policemen on duty,said Sr PI Prakash Birajdar of Waliv police station. 

At the police station, a group of BJP workers led by Brijesh Kumar Zingzotar, Anshuman Singh, Vikas Satya Prakash singh, Suryakant Waghmare and Saurash Harinarayan Shah  started to create a ruckus and pushed the policemen on duty at the station, said PI Birajdar.  We arrested the above seven accused including Ranjit Singh and others under Section 353 (obstructing government servant on duty), 352 (assault) and other allied sections of the IPC and when produced before the Vasai court on Tuesday afternoon, the seven accused have been remanded in judicial custody, said Birajdar. The BJP district president Rajan Naik has alleged that around 20 policemen at the station assaulted the 7 BJP workers in the lockup and we have demanded an inquiry against the policemen for assaulting the workers. Also, the police did not arrest the opposite party involved in the fracas and only targetted us, as we belong to the BJP and it is a political vendetta, said Naik, and we protested the illegal police action.