BJP rebel refuses to budge, to take on Narendra Mehta to ensure win for Sena in Palghar, ex MLA withdraws from race!

BHAYANDER : Rebellion has come to the fore with former Mayor of the MBMC, Geeta Jain has taken on current BJP MLA Narendra Mehta in Mira-Bhayander. Jain has refused to withdraw, despite CM Devendra Fadnavis issuing a warning to all rebels of the BJP-Sena to withdraw their nominations. The Mira - Bhayander seat will have a triangular fight with Muzaffar Hussain of the Congress entering the fray, and a total 12 candidates are contesting the seat. In Boisar and Mira Bhayander constituencies, BJP rebels refused to heed to the orders of the BJP top brass and did not withdrew from the race.

  Jain when contacted said, she was not against the CM Fadnavis or PM Modi, but my fight is against Mehta, as he is allegedly involved in corruption and destruction of mangroves to construct several illegal structures, and the BJP still went ahead and gave Mehta the ticket. To the allegations, Mehta has denied and said he is fighting the polls for the development of the twin cities. Jain has received the "bat" as the symbol as she will be fighting as an Independent.

  In Palghar, there was a twist : to ensure Sena candidate Srinivas Wanga's victory, former Sena MLA Amit Ghoda who was refused the Sena ticket entered the fray on the NCP ticket, and on Monday, he withdrew from the race, after being "convinced" by Sena leaders Eknath Shinde and Ravindra Phatak. The Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray had promised to  Srinivas that he will get justice and thus was given the Palghar ticket, so as to keep his word.  Srinivas is the son of the late Chintaman Wanga, BJP MP who died last year and Uddhav had made the promise to Srinivas during the funeral that he will not be ignored by the Sena.

  The other important fight is in Nalla Sopara, with 14 candidates (the largest number) in fray, and the fight would be between Kshitij Thakur, MLA of the Bahujan Vikas Aghadi (BVA) and retired cop Pradeep Sharma of the Sena. In Vasai, it is a straight fight between BVA chief and MLA Hitendra Thakur and Sena's Vijay Patil, with a total 6 candidates in the race.   

  In Boisar, turncoat Vilas Tare former BVA MLA from Boisar who switched sides to the   Sena will take on BJP rebel Santosh Janate which will see a total of 8 cadidates in the fray. There were efforts made by the BJP to convince Janate to withdraw from the race, but Janate went underground for two days after scrutiny was completed and thus did not abide by the BJP diktat.

  Of the total 69 candidates who had filed their nominations in Palghar district constituencies of Vikramgadh, Palghar, Vasai, Nalla Sopara, Boisar and Dahanu, 16 candidates withdrew from the race and hence 53 candidates are in the fray for the 21 October elections.